Opera GX browser

Started by PZ, January 20, 2020, 08:43:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PZ

Any of you guys know much about the Opera gaming browser?

BinnZ

Nope... Gaming browser?

Is that a game streaming service? Like you don't need expensive hardware?
"No hay luz"

nex

Respect is earned, not given.

PZ

Thanks nex, I thought it would be something like that  O0

BinnZ

Well, that's a totally unimportant thing then, isn't it? ;)
"No hay luz"

fragger

I'm no expert, but it seems to me that the best option of all would be to simply close your browser altogether when you're gaming. If you really need to do something else online while you're gaming, the browser is only an Alt-Tab and a click or two away. Plus I don't know why anybody would need constant gaming news updates while they're gaming.

I don't see how having anything additional running on your machine during gaming could possibly enhance its performance. It's just more stuff taking up RAM and CPU, simple as that. The browser's limiters may help to streamline things, but the best limiter of all would be to turn off as much extraneous software as possible during your gaming session, including your browser. That's my take on it, anyway.

In fact, if I've had other things running before gaming - 3D-modelling and graphics software, internet, whatever - I'll usually reboot the PC before I launch a game. A cold boot that is, not a restart. I know that Photoshop and many 3D programs leave parts of themselves in memory after being run for the first time in any given Windows session in order to fire up faster should you close them down and later reopen them (in the same session), and the same is probably true of other software. I like to start a game with a clean slate as it were, with as little other stuff in memory as possible.

Art Blade