Google Earth Pro FREE

Started by PZ, May 27, 2021, 10:15:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PZ

Google Earth Pro is a free app in which you can create Google Earth-based presentations that can be rich with medial The pogram is free, and when you use the desktop version, you can also view Mars and the Moon just like one would view the Earth.

https://www.google.com/earth/versions/

nex

Is this now the latest one you've been using PZ?
Respect is earned, not given.

PZ

I'm still a newbie at Google Earth, so I've been using the basic web interface at https://earth.google.com.  The Pro app does quite a bit more than the basic web version. Interestingly the web app does not do the Moon or Mars.  :huh-new:

This is what the app looks like, and this video shows how to examine the Moon and Mars

Dweller_Benthos

I used to have the stand alone app, it had a lot of features like adding your own pictures, overlays, etc. I used it to get very old USGS (early 1900s) maps, and overlay them on the current maps and then load those into my GPS so I could use them in the field, and see the details the old maps had that the current ones don't, like buildings that no longer exist. It's pretty handy.
"You've read it, you can't un-read it."
D_B

PZ

That sounds really cool D_B  :thumbsup:

My mind immediately went to using a method like that to see old mining areas.

Where did you get the old USGS maps?

Dweller_Benthos

USGS has all editions of the old maps on their site .... somewhere. Being a gevernment entity, their web site it a maze to navigate. Though looking at it now, it's much easier, look at this link

https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/topoview/viewer/#10/38.9418/-76.9702