Upgrade to Windows 11?

Started by Dweller_Benthos, November 16, 2021, 07:39:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mandru

An ongoing frustration with Win11 is that they removed the seconds from the desktop clock in the lower right corner of the taskbar.  Now there's only the Hours:minutes.  :banghead:

I have watches that are wind up or automatic winding when worn.  Either way when I pull out a watch out of their cases to wear that has been put away for a couple days I can't sync to an exact time.

This also messes with the mmorpg game I've been playing daily for over 20 years.  There are some useful advantages if you log in a few seconds after midnight GMT (6:00pm my time).  If you log in 15 seconds early it locks your time frame in the previous day not allowing you to collect the once daily benefits of the new day forcing you to log completely out and spend a couple minutes getting logged back in.

Some bright Win users figured out a w0#k around to get the seconds displayed on the toolbar clock once again but Windows who hates being thwarted added a patch in an almost immediate update that stripped the seconds back out again.

But I've found a way to access the seconds once more in the Windows settings.  There's an analog clock face and a digital representation (HH:MM:SS) if you dig deep enough.

Click the Start button on the toolbar this will display the pinned Apps from which you select Settings.
Next click Time & Language>Date & Time then scroll down and on Additional clocks there is a link in small print that says "clocks for different time zones".
This opens a popup window called Date and Time with 3 option tabs.  Select the Date and Time tab and there you will find the analog and digital clocks that include the SECONDS.

Take that Win11!  :evil2:
- mandru
Gramma said "Never turn your back 'till you've cut their heads off"

Dweller_Benthos