What I did on my summer vacation

Started by Dweller_Benthos, August 21, 2017, 06:58:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dweller_Benthos

I've decided to edit this to include the whole trip, so if you find it boring, just skip to the exciting video, lol. Apologies for the quality of the pictures, I'm working on my laptop in GIMP, which I've never used before, without a mouse, as it's batteries died

I left New York State on Friday morning, and headed south. As usual, Pennsylvania was the trouble spot, with road construction (they are always rebuilding the roads in Pennsylvania), torrential downpours (not their fault, but it still happened there), and accidents caused by said downpours. So I arrived at my motel in Virginia two hours later than originally planned, just in time for sunset and this shot of the clouds from the motel parking lot.

Guests are not allowed to view images in posts, please Register or Login

After arriving at my cousin's house the next day, we loaded into their car and drove to the coast. We arrived at the rental house on the beach and could relax a bit, and enjoy the ocean view from the deck.

On Sunday it was a typical day on the beach, with something I call 85-85-85 weather, 85°F (or more like 90°F), 85% humidity and 85°F ocean temperature. The ocean was like stepping into bath water almost. We did the usual beach combing and swimming, getting sunburned and then seafood from the local take out place, etc.

On Monday, or Eclipse Day, we left at 5:00 AM to get to the place we wanted to watch the eclipse from, and people filled in the place pretty quickly. We picked this place as it has a visitor center for the national forest with hiking trails, and more importantly, bathrooms and air conditioning. It was more like 90-90-90 weather that day, very hot and very humid. But people settled in and waited.