SharePoint problems

Started by PZ, March 15, 2010, 11:16:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PZ

Quote from: GPFontaine on March 07, 2010, 07:18:48 PM
... While web code has always played a part in my career, my primary job is technology deployment and integration.

You don't by any chance know much about SharePoint?

GPFontaine

Quote from: PZ on March 15, 2010, 11:16:49 AM
Quote from: GPFontaine on March 07, 2010, 07:18:48 PM
... While web code has always played a part in my career, my primary job is technology deployment and integration.

You don't by any chance know much about SharePoint?
A little bit.  I had the opportunity to run a site for about 4 days and opted out because it was too rigid.  On May 12th, 2010 I'll re-evaluate and see if they started to add features such as wiki categories or hierarchy.

PZ

I've been doing SharePoint for about 3-4 years and have incorporated InfoPath forms nearly 2 years ago for a wide variety of purposes (I've converted nearly all of the forms in my administrative office to electronic now).  Now I've run into an issue that is evidently only solvable by editing the aspx.  Here's an example of an outrageous MS hole.  History: I built an InfoPath forms site in which general users have contributor rights.  I built filters so that each individual only sees forms that they personally have created, or have been assigned to them.  All works great - here's the problem:  The Actions menu still contains the Open in Windows Explorer link, which lets them not only open all of the submitted forms, but gives everyone unrestricted access.

The bonehead part - there is no way to deactivate that menu item, nor change permissions that allow it's display.

GPFontaine

Quote from: PZ on March 15, 2010, 05:24:10 PM